To Invest in People, Prioritize Education

International Day of Education — 2023

Blessing Oluchukwu Awamba
4 min readJan 24, 2023
A beautiful woman with some body art on, looking to the ground with a sober demeanor.
Photo by Ivan Samkov from Pexels

I have been vocal about my father’s early death and how it traumatized me from early childhood. I was only 6 years old when my dad died. I had to drop out of the average primary school I was attending to a poorly managed school three streets away from my home.

The first time someone ever showed interest in my future was when a church member, Mr. Oliver Okeke, called me after church one Tuesday evening. I knew him as my friends’ father so I wasn’t surprised when he asked that I see him after church. As I stood with him at the gate of the church while my mother waited five feet away, I could never imagine that my life was about to change.

Growing up in the slums of Ajegunle with two younger brothers and my mum in a one-room apartment, education was important but survival was most important. We quickly learned the art of locking doors and windows when we heard weird footsteps, running when we saw people running on the street, and laying down flat on the ground when we heard gunshots.

I had a tough but interesting childhood. Now, when I think back I’m not sure if I would have wanted it any other way.

I had to be awake by 4 am to fetch water from our compound well which we shared with more than ten tenants with…

--

--

Blessing Oluchukwu Awamba

I write about life; as I experience it, as I know it; as it could be better.